Kamat's Potpourri Kamat Research Database  
Kamat's PotpourriNew Contents
About the Kamats
Feedback
History of India
Women of India
Faces of India
Indian Mythologies
geographica indicaArts of India
Indian Music
Indian Culture
Indian Paintings
Dig Deep Browse by Tags
Site Map
Historical Timeline
Master Index
Research House of Pictures
Stamps of India
Picture Archive
Natives of India
Temples of India
Kamat Network
Blog Portal


(Keyword Search)

The Tradition of Painting -- its Origin and Continuity

Title:The Tradition of Painting -- its Origin and Continuity
Author:(n/a)
Publication:Marg
Enumeration:Vol. 34 Issue no. 2, p. 59-64
Abstract:Murals on the walls of palaces and temples in 18th-century Maharashtra were in the tradition of Ajanta, Ellora, and Gharapuri. Maratha society of the 18th century inherited a variety of paintings: illustrated horoscopes, patas, and wooden book-covers.

Source of Abstract: Provided by Publisher

See Also:
Tools:

Kamat Reference Database

Kamat's Potpourri Research Database Abstracts

.

© 1995-2013 Kamat's Potpourri All Rights Reserved. Do not reproduce without prior permission. Some disclaimers apply