more ads

Kamat's Potpourri

Congress Archives
Kamat's PotpourriNew Contents
About the Kamats
History of India
Women of India
Faces of India
Indian Mythologies
geographica indicaArts of India
Indian Music
Indian Culture
Indian Paintings
Dig Deep Browse by Tags
Site Map
Historical Timeline
Master Index
Research House of Pictures
Stamps of India
Picture Archive
Natives of India
Temples of India
Kamat Network
Blog Portal

Structure of Indian National Congress

First Online: June 24, 2005
Page Last Updated: May 09, 2017

The Nagpur convention of Congress (year 1920) adapted an organization structure for operation of Congress. The structure was as follows.

President of Congress
To be chosen each year from nominations made by Provincial Congress Committees

Working Committee
Congress Session
Presidents and delegates Provincial Congress Committees
All India Congress Committee (AICC)
350 Members elected by the Provincial Congress Committees
Provincial Congress Committees
21 members based on linguistic divisions of India
District Congress Committees and
Taluka Congress Committees
Four Anna Membership
One pays a quarter of a Ruppee and signs up

It was a wise (although the linguistic representation may be debated), democratic structure for the size and nature of the organization, and allowed for blossoming of leadership.

However, Indira Gandhi brought upon Congress, an autocratic leadership and a cult following. During her time, internal elections were not held, and the secondary leadership did not develop.

Over the decades, the Congress has split, merged and this hierarchy has disappeared, mostly controlled by the charismatic presidents -- most typically a member of the Nehru-Gandhi family.

See Also:


Files of Indian National Congress
Congress Archive

Presidents Message for Haripura Congress ConventionDa. Pa. KaramarakarKhan Mohammad Abbas Khan C. Rajagopalachari (1878 - 1972)  Dadabhai Navroji (1825-1917) Bhagwan Das (1869-1958)Portrait of Jamnalal Bajaj
Anjali Ammal Narottam Morarji Picture of Kamala Nehru Kadengodlu Shankar Bhat Swadeshi Memorabilia Portrait of Indira GandhiSalt March to Break the Law
Subhash Chandra Bose Making a Radio BroadcastGandhian Freedom Fighters Soldiers of Non-violence Marching to Break LawSatyagrahis squatting on the beach to break lawLohia at Congress ConventionBidhan Chandra Roy (1882 - 1962)Anugrah Narayan Sinha
Congressman Balakrishna Sharma (1897-1960)Babu Purushottamdas TandonV. I. Muniswamy PillaiBalaji Bhawansa WalvekarB. Pattabhi Sitaramiah (1880 - 1959)Deshabandhu Chittaranjan DasSardar Vallabhai Patel
Maulana Abdul Kalam AzadDeshbandhu Chitta Ranjan Das (1870-1925)Pandit Motilal NehruRao Bahadur MudholkarAcharya Prafulla Chandra Ray (1861-1944)Henry Cotton (1845-1915)N.G. Chandavarkar (1855-1923)
Alan Octavian HumeIndira NehruAnnie BesantNawasb Syed Muhammad  BahadurMarch of Satyagrahis in Goa

Kamat's Potpourri Indian History Freedom StruggleCongress

© 1996-2017 Kamat's Potpourri. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without prior permission. Standard disclaimers apply

Merchandise and Link Suggestions

Top of Page