more ads

Kamat's Potpourri

Congress Archives
Kamat's PotpourriNew Contents
About the Kamats
History of India
Women of India
Faces of India
Indian Mythologies
geographica indicaArts of India
Indian Music
Indian Culture
Indian Paintings
Dig Deep Browse by Tags
Site Map
Historical Timeline
Master Index
Research House of Pictures
Stamps of India
Picture Archive
Natives of India
Temples of India
Kamat Network
Blog Portal

Archives of Indian National Congress

First Online: April 13, 2003
Page Last Updated: January 04, 2018

Table of Contents

Acharya Prafulla Chandra Ray (1861-1944)
Sir P.C. Ray was a great apostle of home-rule (Swadeshi)
Freedom Fighters of India
A. O. Hume
Alan Octavian Hume
Founder of Indian National Congress

Anjali Ammal
Born in a poor weaver's family, Ammal joined Ganhi's call for Satyagraha and served prison sentence. Social worker and reformer, later she served Madras assembly.
Anjali Ammal
Women Freedom Fighters
Annie Besant
Altough of European by birth, Besant inspired many Indians to fight for freedom, and even served as the president of Indian National Congress

Anugrah Narayan Sinha
Sinha was an eminent Congressman from Bihar
Freedom Fighters of India
Bhograju Pattabhi Sitaramayya
B. Pattabhi Sitaramiah (1880 - 1959)
Photograph by Vanguard for 1938 Congress Commemorative Volume

Babu Purushottamdas Tandon
Tandon sevred as the speaker of United Province during Congress rule
Freedom Fighters of India
Congress Leaders
Balaji Bhawansa Walvekar
(a.k.a Baboorao) Walvekar was a Congress leader from Maharashtra

Bhagwan Das (1869-1958)
A myriad minded genius and a Gandhian, Dr. Das was a prominent congressman from Uttara Pradesh. A brilliant scholar, he served as the Chancellor of Kashi Vidyapeeth.
Bhagwan Das
Congress Archives
Bidhan Chandra Roy (1882 - 1962)
Dr. Roy was a respected physiciam and an eminent Congressman from Bengal during the Freedom Struggle. He served as the Chief Minister of West Bengal after freedom.

C. Rajagopalachari (1878 - 1972)
Well known as Rajaji, Rajagopalachari was close friend of Gandhi, and served several terms in prison for his political activities. Later (1959) he founded the Freedom Party
Picture of Rajaji
Freedom Fighters of India
Congressman Balakrishna Sharma (1897-1960)
Picture of poet, philosopher and a leader Balakrishna Sharma

Da. Pa. Karamarakar
Freedom fighter and leader of Karnataka
Congressmen of Karnataka
Portrait of Dadabhai Naoroji
Dadabhai Navroji (1825-1917)
Navroji was an important pillar of Indian nationalistic movement and served as president of Indian National Congress during 1886, 1893, and 1906.

Deshabandhu Chittaranjan Das
Chittaranjan Das
C.R. Das
Deshbandhu Chitta Ranjan Das (1870-1925)
Freedom fighter of India and President of Gaya Convention (1922) of Indian National Congress

Gandhian Freedom Fighters
Pictures of Vaman and Vithal Hodike, Town of Sirsi
Portraits of Freedom Fighters
Presidents of Congress
Henry Cotton (1845-1915)
President of 1904 Congress Convention

Indira Nehru
A 1938 Photograph shows young Indira
Women Freedom Fighters
Congressman, Journalist K.S.Bhat
Kadengodlu Shankar Bhat

Khan Mohammad Abbas Khan
A liberal reformer, Khan Mohammad Abbas Khan belonged to the democratic party, which formed a coalition with congress and served as the interim mister for industries.
Khan Mohammad Abbas Khan
Ram Manohar Lohia
Lohia at Congress Convention
August 8, 1942

March of Satyagrahis in Goa
Press clipping of protestors marching for Goa's freedom
Liberation of Goa
Congress Presidents
Maulana Abdul Kalam Azad
President of Special Convention of 1923 (Delhi) Indian National Congress

N.G. Chandavarkar (1855-1923)
President of Indian National Congress, 1900 Lahore Convention
Narayan Ganesh Chandavarkar
Narottam Morarji
Narottam Morarji
Portrait of Norattam Morarji, an pro-congress industrialist and a freedom fighter

Nawasb Syed Muhammad Bahadur
President of Congress Convention of Karachi in 1913
Eminent Congressmen
Motilal Nehru
Pandit Motilal Nehru
Nehru served as the President of Indian National Congress during 1919 (Amritsar) and 1928 (Calcutta) Conventions

Picture of Kamala Nehru
Kamala Nehru
Jamnalal Bajaj
Portrait of Jamnalal Bajaj
Bajajji was fervent follower of Gandhi and played an important role in industrialization of India after independence.

Portrait of Indira Gandhi
Detail from a Indian Postal Stamp
Indira Gandhi
Historical Document
President's Message for Haripura Congress Convention
Handwritten message by Subhas Chandra Bose to the delegates of the 1938 session of the Indian National Congress

Rao Bahadur Mudholkar
President of Indian National Congress during Bankipore (1912) Convention
Presidents of Congress Party
Deep and Long Arms of Congress
Salt March to Break the Law
A photograph from Ankola showing the non-violent civil disobedience movement

Sardar Vallabhai Patel
President of Indian National Congress, 1931 Karachi Convetion
Presidents of Congress
The Salt Movement
Satyagrahis squatting on the beach to break law

Soldiers of Non-violence Marching to Break Law
The Salt Movement, 1930
The Salt Movement
Subhash Chandra Bose
Subhash Chandra Bose Making a Radio Broadcast
Picture Courtesy: All India Radio, Bangalore

Swadeshi Memorabilia
Woman weaves cloth under Gandhi's bust
From a picture postcard from 1940s
Congress Advertisement
Freedom Fighters of India
V. I. Muniswamy Pillai
Pillai was elected to Madras assembly on a Congress ticket, and served as the Minister for Agriculture

See Also:


Files of Indian National Congress
Congress Archive

Presidents Message for Haripura Congress ConventionDa. Pa. KaramarakarKhan Mohammad Abbas Khan C. Rajagopalachari (1878 - 1972)  Dadabhai Navroji (1825-1917) Bhagwan Das (1869-1958)Portrait of Jamnalal Bajaj
Anjali Ammal Narottam Morarji Picture of Kamala Nehru Kadengodlu Shankar Bhat Swadeshi Memorabilia Portrait of Indira GandhiSalt March to Break the Law
Subhash Chandra Bose Making a Radio BroadcastGandhian Freedom Fighters Soldiers of Non-violence Marching to Break LawSatyagrahis squatting on the beach to break lawLohia at Congress ConventionBidhan Chandra Roy (1882 - 1962)Anugrah Narayan Sinha
Congressman Balakrishna Sharma (1897-1960)Babu Purushottamdas TandonV. I. Muniswamy PillaiBalaji Bhawansa WalvekarB. Pattabhi Sitaramiah (1880 - 1959)Deshabandhu Chittaranjan DasSardar Vallabhai Patel
Maulana Abdul Kalam AzadDeshbandhu Chitta Ranjan Das (1870-1925)Pandit Motilal NehruRao Bahadur MudholkarAcharya Prafulla Chandra Ray (1861-1944)Henry Cotton (1845-1915)N.G. Chandavarkar (1855-1923)
Alan Octavian HumeIndira NehruAnnie BesantNawasb Syed Muhammad  BahadurMarch of Satyagrahis in Goa

Kamat's Potpourri Indian History Freedom StruggleCongress

© 1996-2018 Kamat's Potpourri. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without prior permission. Standard disclaimers apply

Merchandise and Link Suggestions

Top of Page