more ads

Kamat's Potpourri

Geographica Indica

Kamat's PotpourriNew Contents
About the Kamats
History of India
Women of India
Faces of India
Indian Mythologies
geographica indicaArts of India
Indian Music
Indian Culture
Indian Paintings
Dig Deep Browse by Tags
Site Map
Historical Timeline
Master Index
Research House of Pictures
Stamps of India
Picture Archive
Natives of India
Temples of India
Kamat Network
Blog Portal


Indian Money

Page First Created: September 21, 2003
Page Last Updated: May 09, 2017


The official Indian currency is Rupee  (a.k.a. Rupaya, Ruppai), the name derived from its silver coin predecessor.

A Rupee is divided into 100 parts, each of which called a Paise.

Rupee today is a weak currency worth about two US cents (year 2003). So a Paise has become such a small currency that it costs the economy huge amounts of money and effort to keep track of it.

Paise is sometimes referred to as Naya-Paise, meaning the "new-money", a habit continued from when India became free from British -- when the new county introduced new currency, people used Naya-Paise to distinguish it from the old currency.

Because of the smallness of the Rupee, it is very common to hear the word Lakh of Rupees in India, which mean 100,000 Rupees. A Crore of Rupees indicates one hundred Lakhs or ten million Rupees.

In post-independence days, another unit of currency, namely the Ana  was prevalent. An Ana was equivalent of six Naya-Paise, and it was common to approximate a Quarter (25 Paise) to four Anas and Half-of-a-Rupee to eight Anas.

See Also:


Geographica Indica
India You Do Not Know

Kamat's Potpourri Geographica Indica India You Do Not Know

Research Database

© 1996-2017 Kamat's Potpourri. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without prior permission. Standard disclaimers apply

Merchandise and Link Suggestions

Top of Page