more ads
Kamat's Potpourri History of Kannada Literature  
Kamat's PotpourriNew Contents
About the Kamats
History of India
Women of India
Faces of India
Indian Mythologies
geographica indicaArts of India
Indian Music
Indian Culture
Indian Paintings
Dig Deep Browse by Tags
Site Map
Historical Timeline
Master Index
Research House of Pictures
Stamps of India
Picture Archive
Natives of India
Temples of India
Kamat Network
Blog Portal

The Juices of Poetics

First Online: July 16, 2000
Page Last Updated: May 09, 2017

The Rasas (ru-sa -- from Sanskrit essence or juice -- roughly translated as the juices of poetics) are central to evaluating the quality of literature. The Navarasas as they are referred to, are nine in number and are listed below:

  • Love
  • Courage
  • Loathing or Disgust 
  • Anger
  • Mirth
  • Terror
  • Pity
  • Awe
  • Surprise

According to traditional Indian grammars, every poem should contain one or more of these flavors.


History of Kannada Literature
Early History | Jaina Works | Medieval Kannada | Ranna | Kumaravyasa | Sarvajna
Vachana LiteratureDasa Sahitya | Epics and Mahakavyas | Modern Kannada


Author Dr. Jyotsna Kamat is the recipient of the Karnataka Rajyotsava Award in 1991.  She lives in Bangalore.

Kamat's Potpourri Timeless Theater Karnataka History of Kannada

Research Database

© 1996-2017 Kamat's Potpourri. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without prior permission. Standard disclaimers apply

Merchandise and Link Suggestions

Top of Page