The Wodeyars of Mysore
1578 A.D. to 1947 A.D.

Mysore became independent after the fall of the Vijayanagar Empire (1565 A.D.) and remained so till the independence of (rest of) India in 1947. For a period Hyder Ali usurped the kingdom and after his and his son Tippu Sultan's rule, the kingdom was returned to the Wodeyars (a.k.a. Wadiyars and Odeyars) by the British in 1799. Wodeyars contributed a great deal towards arts and culture. Palaces, temples, the Mysore school of traditional painting, women's schools and colleges and music maestros bear witness to the liberal grants and patronage of Mysore kings. Mysore was the only highly industrialized and progressive native state in India in steel, silk, soaps and hydro-electricity. The kingdom was benefited from visionaries like Sir Mirza Ismail and Sir M.Vishweshwariah who served under the Wodeyars.

Mummadi Krishnaraja Wodeyar (1794-1868 A.D.)
Mummadi Krishnaraja Wodeyar
(1780-1865 A.D.)

Krishnaraj Wodeyar
Nalvadi Krishnaraja Wodeyar
(1902-1940 A.D.)

The Wodeyars (aka Wadiyars) of Mysore


See Also:


Kamat's Potpourri Timeless Theater Deccan Plateau Wodeyars

Research Database

Merchandise and Link Suggestions

Top of Page

Wodeyar Kings of Mysore
Wodeyars of Mysore

Old Mysore Palace, MysoreAt Royal Court of MysoreAt the Durbar of WodeyarsKrishnaraja Wodeyar IV (1902-1940)
At the Mysore Durbar Jayachamarajendra Wodeyar (1919-1974 A.D.) Golden Footwear Chamaraja Wodeyar with Family
Jayachamarajendra Wodeyar (1919-1974)Krishnaraj Wodeyar IVAmba Vilas Palace, MysoreChamaraja Wodeyar (1863-94)
In the Court of Mysore Palace